Mashelkar appointed 1st chairperson of AcSIR

Raghunath Mashelkar, former director of National Chemical Laboratory (NCL), Pune, has been appointed the first chairperson of the Academy of Scientific and Innovative Research (AcSIR) for a period of four years.

National Research Professor Mashelkar will also be the Chancellor of the AcSIR, said a press release issued by NCL on Friday. The AcSIR was established by Parliament’s Academy of Scientific Innovative Research Act, 2011 vide the Gazette of India No.15 dated February 7, 2012 and notified on April 3, 2012 as an Institution of National Importance.