

Academy of Scientific & Innovative Research (AcSIR)

Second Meeting of the Senate August 17, 2011, 3.00 pm

Venue: Room No. 101, Anusandhan Bhawan, CSIR HQ, New Delhi

<u>Discussions of the Second Meeting of the Senate held on 17th August 2011.</u>
The following Members participated in the meeting:

Sr.	Name of the Member	Mode of Participation
No.		
1.	Prof. Gautam Biswas	In Person
2.	Dr. Nagesh R. Iyer	In Person
3.	Dr. A. Ajayaghosh	Skype
4.	Dr. P. Goswami	In Person
5.	Dr. B. D. Kulkarni	Video Conferencing
6.	Dr. K. S. Krishna	In Person
7.	Dr. Javed N. Agrewala	In Person
8.	Dr. Vijaya Mohanan K. Pillai	Skype
9.	Dr. (Mrs.) Asha A. Juwarkar	Video Conferencing
10.	Dr. (Mrs.) Laxmi Kantham	In Person
11.	Dr. Pijush Pal Roy	In Person
12.	Prof. S. K. Bhattacharya	In Person
13.	Prof. Indranil Manna	In Person
14.	Dr. Parthasarthi Banerjee	In Person
15.	Dr. Ashish Lele	Video Conferencing
16.	Dr. Mitali Mukherjee	Video Conferencing
17.	Dr. Debi Prasad Das	Skype
18.	Dr. B. K. Mishra	Video Conferencing
19.	Dr. Amitava Sengupta	In Person
20.	Dr. Ram Rajsekharan	In Person
21.	Dr. (Mrs.) Suman Kumari Mishra	In Person
22.	Dr. Kunal Ray	Skype
23.	Mr. Rakesh Mohan Jha	Video Conferencing
24.	Mr. Rajesh Luthra	In Person
25.	Mrs. Santa Chawla	In Person

Professor Gautam Biswas, Acting Director, AcSIR and Chairman of the Senate welcomed all the members of the Senate and thanked them for participating in the second meeting. The Chairman conveyed the tragic news of passing away of one of the active Senate members, - Dr. Vinod Bhakuni

on July 15, 2011. All the members observed silence for two minutes as a mark of respect to Dr Vinod Bhakuni, Senior Principal Scientist, CSIR-CDRI was recipient of the prestigious Bhatnagar Prize. Chairman also informed that he had sent a condolence message to the bereaved family on July 16, 2011.

- Prof. Biswas briefed the members on the action taken subsequent to the last Senate meeting. The action related to (i) framing of curricula and courses, (ii) admission procedures, (iii) Academy Professorship being conferred on Prof. R. A Mashelkar and Prof. George Whitesides, (iv) formulation of draft Statutes and Ordinances, (v) report by the examination committee. The Senate was also informed that a function was organized at CSIR-IGIB on August 06, 2011 to confer the Academy Professorship to Prof. George Whitesides. The Senate noted the action taken report and approved the same.
- The Senate considered the two items for approval that were concerned with the endorsement of
- a) PGRPE 2009 batch results
- b) Awarding the degree/ diploma to the 2009 batch students.

The members noted that the candidates of PGPR 2009 batch had performed exceedingly well with many of them having publications in journal/ conferences. The Senate endorsed both the items. The Senate was also informed that on 15th September 2011, diploma will be conferred to the candidates at the time when CSIR is organising its third anniversary of OSDD.

- At this point of time, Prof. Samir K. Brahmachari, Acting Chairman BOG of AcSIR joined and addressed the members. He urged the members to contribute at least 20% of their time towards Academy related activities by direct participation. He concluded by saying that AcSIR can be vibrant and lively only when all the members contribute their full support and give their sincerest efforts to produce the best post graduates and doctorates from AcSIR no matter whether the candidates join CSIR or join the industry.
- The Senate considered the item on PhD admissions for August 2011 session for ratification. The
 members approved the recommendation of the Admission Committee in respect of selection
 criteria. The members also pointed out that the para on Fast track/direct PhD in Engineering be
 deleted as this is also shown as a separate agenda item.
- The members of the Senate approved the Agenda item on admission of PGRPE 2009 students qualified for Ph.D admission in January 2012 session after noting the contents under this Agenda.
- The Senate then took up the Agenda item No.8 on "Courses of Study". Considerable discussions took place on the nomenclature to be adopted for all the courses in the various streams. It was resolved that the courses should still be run and a group of members of the Senate with the members of the corresponding clusters, and Deans/ Associate Deans would work together and use internationally accepted nomenclature. Director and Associate Director (Academic), AcSIR, assured the Senate that this issue would be taken up on priority basis and resolved shortly.

- There was considerable deliberations and discussions on the proposal of INAE and AICTE for Ph.D program at AcSIR. The members by consensus resolved that Academy should in-principle go ahead with this proposal and empowered the Chairman, Senate to take suitable steps. It was also decided that Dr. Nagesh Iyer, Associate Director (Academics) would remain in touch with the Vice President of INAE and would oversee the selection of the youngsters from AICTE approved colleges.
- The members of the Senate considered item No.10 concerning direct Ph.D (after earning the Baccalaureate degree) in Engineering. The members opined that the criteria indicated in the proposal need to be reviewed and also the course work requirements have to be properly indicated and suggested. This item after suitable revision should be tabled during the next meeting of the Senate for its consideration.
- The reports of Admission and Examination Committees were considered by the Senate. The Senate accorded its approval to the reports of Admission and Course committees. The Senate deliberated on the issue of awarding grade points to the thesis work that is carried out by the students at the respective laboratories (instead of just declaring Satisfactory or Unsatisfactory). However, it was agreed by the Senate Members to award grade points. The Examination Committee was directed to review and evolve the grading system for the thesis work pertaining to the Post Graduate programmes of AcSIR.
- The Draft report on Statutes and Ordinances prepared by the sub-committee constituted for the same were placed before the Senate for consideration. The Chairman-Senate requested the members to give their comments/ suggestions in writing either by e-mail or by fax in about three weeks time so as to finalize these drafts and table the same during the next Senate meeting.
- After all the items listed in the Agenda were discussed, the Senate considered the issue of fellowship to be given to the qualified candidates who would be taking up direct PhD in Engineering. Dr. Rajesh Luthra, Head, HRDG of CSIR was requested to consider a scheme similar to SPM Fellowship for up to 20 numbers in the first instance. He was also requested by the Senate to look at the possibility of introducing NET for engineering graduates in order to award additional fellowships to the qualified candidates in the Engineering streams.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.

Chairman Senate (AcSIR)
October 19, 2011

Gautam Sers WAS